Weight Watchers treats the whole personThis week hubby and I are starting Weight Watchers.

Or maybe I should say we re-started. I first joined Weight Watchers about four years ago. I had gained about 40 pounds while taking the drug Zyprexa.  I was still taking Zyprexa and Risperdal, but I was only taking it whenever I felt a “manic” episode brewing up. My mental health practitioner agreed with this approach because I didn’t want to be doped up AND she also saw how much weight I had gained.  I agreed to meet with her every two weeks so that she could watch my mood.

Weight Watchers worked very well for me.

Currently I am only between 15 and 25 pounds overweight. I give that range because last time I was on Weight Watchers I plateaued out at what I still considered to be 10 pounds overweight.  Sometimes if you have lost a lot of weight but can not get down to what the charts say you should be, Weight Watchers will say it is better to just accept this weight. After all, I am not 19 anymore.  Also, I could still try to get lower. But I looked and felt good.  I am now consider a Lifetime member.

Right now I have high blood pressure. I think losing weight would help this. Also, hubby has problems with gout and arthritis. His knees and ankles will not hurt as much if he loses weight.

Hubby has lost weight without officially joining Weight Watchers, but by following my lead, measuring his food and writing down his points. (Points are counted rather than calories.)

 We found that if you are going to be half-baked about meausring your food and writing down your points, then the Weight Watchers system will not work. The key is measuring, recording and weighing yourself once a week.

http://www.weightwatchers.com/templates/marketing/Landing_1col_nonav.aspx?PageId=1039731

 

 

