A trout dinner on flickr

We are trying to stay on our Weight Watchers plan. Today I had fish for lunch. I also had kale for a veggie. Later on when I was really craving something easy to eat, like piece of bread, crackers or cookies; I ate an apple

The secret, I believe is to truly measure what you are eating. No guesstimating. You need to purchase a scale with an ounces feature and use it. You also need to use your measuring cup. Hubby said he always thinks of 1 cup as our glass measuring cups. Well, those cups are actually TWO cups.

Well, I want this blog to be more about eating for health, than a dieting blog. So, what is so great about fish?

Fish is a great source of Omega 3 fatty acids. Omega 3 fatty acids are good for the heart and good for the brain. There are healing properties for the brain.

We both take three 1000 grams Omega 3 Fatty Acid supplements every night. If you are trying to recover from a mental health issue, one of the supplements you should take, if you don’t take anything else, is one with omega 3 fatty acids. The University of Maryland had this to say about the importance of omega 3 fatty acids:

They are essential to human health but cannot be manufactured by the body. For this reason, omega-3 fatty acids must be obtained from food. Omega-3 fatty acids can be found in fish, such as salmon, tuna, and halibut, other marine life such as algae and krill, certain plants (including purslane), and nut oils. Also known as polyunsaturated fatty acids (PUFAs), omega-3 fatty acids play a crucial role in brain function as well as normal growth and development.”

We love nuts and have eaten a lot of them. I haven’t revisited how fattening or how many “points” they are on the Weight Watchers system.

There is a comment that Weight Watchers has a “natural” plan. I am not aware of this at this time. I find that since I am more particular, I cannot use some of their suggestions. I will not drink diet pop, or use artificial sweeteners. I have shied away from their brand name desserts. That said, I am most impressed by the system of eating real food, being grounded in real-life and no gimmicks.Trout dinner

