I try to eat totally organic. Many people feel that type of a lifestyle is too expensive.  The biggest difference between now and the last time I was on Weight Watchers, is that now I will not eat or drink any artificial sweeteners. I have also decided that good fat is better than the some of the additives. Now I do eat butter, rather than margarine.

But, on to today’s subject.

This might help you in the grocery store or when talking to friends about organic fruits and vegetables. Take out a piece or paper or a 3 inch by 5 inch index card. Draw a line down the middle or fold it. On one side of the line write down “Highest Pesticide Content (avoid.)” On the other side of the line write, “Lowest Pesticide Content.” When we are done you can keep this in your wallet as a cheat sheet.

Write these fruits and vegetables down under the

“Highest Pesticide Content (avoid)”

Peaches,

Apples,

Sweet Bell Peppers

Celery

Nectarines

Strawberries

Cherries,

Pears

Grapes (especially imported)

Spinach

Lettuce

Potatoes

On the other side of the line write

Lowest Pesticide Content. (Okay to purchase if going non-organic)

Onions

Avocado

Sweet Corn (frozen)

Pineapples

Mango

Asparagus

Sweet Peas

Kiwi Fruit

Bananas

Cabbage

Broccoli

Papaya

I keep this paper in my pocket calendar/wallet. Where ever I am I and quickly access it and decide which fruits or vegetables to partake in and which to avoid.

The above is taken form the Environmental Working Group website under Food News. You may also download their copy here.

 

