I wanted a shakeMiniBarsHubby and I weighted in at Weight Watchers two days ago. I lost 4/10s of a pound. Hubby lost 8/10s of a pound.

We were a little disappointed. But at least we didn’t gain.  We had gone to two parties over the weekend and we pretty much behaved ourselves as far a bad food goes.

I don’t like to eat meat when I go out because you never know what is in the meat, like how the animal was raised…humanely or what hormones or antibiotics it consumed.  Also meat usually has more fat in it.

At one party, hubby took only one-half of a bratwurst. I tried to stay with the veggies. But there was too much meat, chips and sweets. I had one teeny-weeny piece of chocolate cake. At another party I decided not to have the s’mores. Hubby did have three marshmallows.

The key is planning ahead. Eat a little ahead and/or bring something you know you can eat. We did not go hungry. I brought my own homemade organic potato salad to one party, so I knew it was healthy.

The reason I labeled this post “Good treats? or naughty?” is because I purchased two things that I said I wasn’t going to do this time around. I purchased two Weight Watchers products: French Vanilla Smoothie and Chocolate Carmel MiniBars. The list of the ingredients on the back is over my head.

Some people say if you can not pronounce the word (or understand what it is) you should NOT put it in your mouth.

Here is what is in the Smoothie:

nonfat milk, soy protein isolate, gum arabic, natural and artificial flavor, maltosextrin, calcium phosphate, sunflower oil, calcium citrate, cellulose gum, guar gum, soy lecithin, calcium carbonate, carrageenan, santhan gum, sodium caseinate, acesulfame K, potassium phosphate, mom and di-glycerides, sucralose, Vitamin A plamitate, zinc oxide, yellow 5, tocopherols added to protect flavor, Riboflavin, Vitamin D3, Vitamin B 12. (I am not sure which are supposed to be capitalized.)

Here is the ingredients of the MiniBars:

Corn syrup, sugar fructooligosaccairdes, maltodextrin, fractionated palm kernel oil, why protein concentrate, glycerine, high maltose corn syrup, high fructose corn syrup, water, soy protein isolate, cocoa (processed with alkali, nonfat milk, cocoa whey. fructose, calcium carbonate, unsweetened chocolate, natural and artificial flavor, soybean and canola oil, polydextrose, dextrose, cream butter (cream salt, annatto added for color) mono-and digiycerdies, salt, magnesium oxide, soy lecithin, sodium citrate, ferric osrthophosphate, ascorbic acid, DL -alpha tocopheherol acetate, niancinamide, zinc oxide, copper cluconate, tocopherols added to protect flavor, calcium pantothnate, manganese sulfate, carrageenan, prydioxine hydrochloride, Riboflavin, beta-carotene, thiamine mondoitrate, vitamin A palmaitate, chromium chloride, folic acid, biotin, potassium iodide, sodium molybdate, sodium selenite, phytonadione, Vitamin B12.

Phew...after typing that I am really beginning to wonder if I should be eating this.

I bought them because I can easily grab the bars as a treat and I know exactly how many points I have consumed. The shakes, I just thought would be fun.

So, do you recognize any of the ingredients listed above? Any that you know are baddies?

What are Mono- & Diglycerides, Anyway???  

Info on maltodextrin:

tocopherols and tocotrienols

Would you eat the above ingredients?

What do you eat when you are invited to others’ houses?

Let me know how you are going to eat this summer especially if you have been invited to graduation parties, Memorial Day cook-outs, and other summer gatherings.

Hat tip to Duane Sherry at Discover and Recover.

Food Matters, a soon to be released movie.

