Dairy Queens are fun to eat.

Dairy Queens are fun to eat.

I try to eat only natural and/or organic food. But I love Dairy Queens. I like them so much that I don’t even really want to know what ingredients are used to make them.  I don’t eat them very often because I want to stay organic…and I am on Weight Watchers, but the other day I did eat one. I asked the worker for nutritional information. She gave me a brochure.

 Here is what it said:

Dairy Queen soft serve is a delicious reduced-fat ice cream containing the following ingredients:

milkfat and nonfatmilk, sugar, corn syrup, whey, mono and diglycerides, artificial flavor, guar gum, polysorbate 80, carrageenan and a vitamin A palmitate.

For those of you who are not worried about whether or not it is organic, there is a great nutrition & exchange guide at the Dairy Queen website and the brochure that they hand out.   The guide based upon the  food exchange system used by the American Diabetes Associations. They also have some outlets that serve gluten free foods.

If you live in New Jersey or Illinois…they use more butterfat….hmmmm….actually sounds better for taste and avoiding additives!

 I ALWAYS order the small. I satisfy my craving and don’t blow my diet.

How about you?Do you try to eat organic….and if do follow an organic diet, what treats do you bend the rules for?

