I have high blood pressure. I try to reduce my salt intake, but how much salt should an adult have:  Here is an article from WebMD

Watch Out for Salt

he national blood pressure guidelines recommend limiting sodium to no more than 2,400 milligrams a day (about 1 teaspoon of table salt). By staying on a sodium-restricted diet, your systolic blood pressure (top number) may drop 2 to 8 points

Tip: Substitute herbs for salt when cooking and avoid processed meats and canned foods.

The  DASH diet is Dietary Approaches to Stop Hypertension or the DASH diet is a diet promoted by the National Heart, Lung, and Blood Institute (part of the NIH, an organisation part of the government of the USA) to control hypertension. Learn more here.

 

I look at the DASH diet and I find that it is really hard for me to eat as much fruits as vegetables as I need.  I go for comfort and not as much chewing…well I don’t know if that is really true…but I can grab a banana, or eat some yogurt much easier than a crunching apple or taking the time to peel an orange or prepare a salad.

Last night I went to an event and ate some carrot cake…because it was easy to eat.

Going out to eat makes it about impossible to have low salt. With hubby and I being separated, we do like to meet at restaurants, event he organic restaurants seem to have too much salt in there dishes.

This Christmas someone gave me some soup mix. I was so hungry yesterday noon that I was going to make some soup…but  look at this, it has 1190 mg of sodium!!!! half of an adults daily intake.   The name of it is Country Gardens Cuisine: Three Cheese Potato Soup from Comfort Foods, Inc.

So, I mixed just a tad of it with a rice pilaf I had boiled the day before and then I added some organic free-range chicken broth, low sodium, from Pacific Natural Foods.

