“Recent brain imaging tests show that imagining doing something is almost exactly the same to the brain–and the body–as actually doing something. The idea is to have your thoughts and feelings “vibrate” at the same frequency as what you want; if you desire stupendous wealth, raise your emotional bar to bring that in–expand, expand, expand.”

The above quote is interesting. I copied and pasted it from a Beliefnet article, “Ten Steps to Unlocking the Secret”.

I have also seen the movie/DVD. “The Secret” which the Beliefnet post is based on.

Here is quick synopsis.

  1. Clear you mind.
  2. Decide what you want
  3. Ask for it
  4. Visualize having it
  5. Express and feel gratitude
  6. Release control
  7. Stay positive
  8. Be patient
  9. Invite it in
  10. Share the wealth

While I find the materialist part of the Beliefnet article and the DVD irritating. I have found a basic truth in these steps. The movie seems to say if you want it bad enough, you can have it. And I can’t help think of people in dire poverty wanting food or shelter and I don’t think they will get it by just thinking about it. But on the other hand, if you don’t focus on solutions and visualize what you want, you probably will never get it. ( Huh, listen to the negative tone I used to write that last sentence. It could have been, “If you focus on solutions and visualize what you want, you are more likely to get it.)

The other very irritating part of Beliefnet are the ad to “treat” depression. Visit the site and don’t let those bother you.

Ironically during some correspondence with my ex-husband, he told me about this movie and thought its message might be helpful. My daughter loaned a copy when she came to visit. That was actually a couple years ago. I am imagining myself as successful. And slowly but surely, I have made incredible progress. It is not going to happen over night, but it will happen.

I remember when I had my first major depression at age 22 (?) I literally imagined myself as a failure, working a low-wage job and never having what I wanted. My hard would race, I had acid stomach, and sweat would run down my back. I do believe that thoughts affect your body.

