night-guard

Grinding your teeth can ruin them. And you might not even know that you are grinding your teeth.

I now wear a mouth guard at night while I am sleeping. Sometimes I wake up and my mouth is clenched so I know it would be bad news if I didn’t wear the mouth guard.  I purchased mine at a drug store and fashioned if for my own mouth.

You just boil it in water for a few seconds…let it cool a bit, pop it in your mouth and it forms to your needs. My husband also had one made by his dentist. It didn’t fit right, and the dog chewed it up…so that was a waste of over $100.00. Mine cost $22. You might think you can’t afford it, but I had ground my teeth so much that my bite wasn’t correct and one of my front tooth was slanted from the grind. This affects your appearance which affects your self confidence. I just had my teeth “corrected” or a filling on the part that was ground down. It was a tooth right in the center front of my mouth. I also had cracked a molar. I am sure it was from so much teeth-grinding.

A little preventative care can go a long way.  Teeth clenching can cause headaches too.

